In the cave "Cueva de Nerja", about five kilometers from the city, evidence of human settlement from the Paleolithic Age was found.

In the village of Maro, four kilometers east of the city, remnants of the Roman settlement “Detunda” were discovered.

The Moors established first buildings a little further inland than the present city.

The first written references to the name Nerja come from the historian Almacarri de Tremecen and the Arab poet and geographer Ibn Sadí around 917, with the place name Nerja, Naricha, Narixa or Narija and the meaning "(rich) water source". 

The Moors also build a small fortress on the shoreline. After the Duke of Nájera conquered the city of Vélez-Málaga in 1487, Nerja surrendered without resistance to Christian rule.

In 1509, the construction of a small fortress in the town of Nerja was completed. It was built on a cliff and did not stand at the same place as the fortress of the Moors. The fortress was designed to protect against Berber attacks. In the 16th century, many Arab-born inhabitants moved away or were expelled. This was mainly due to the resettlement of early Christians from Vizcaya, Galicia, Valencia, Seville and other parts of Andalusia, but also by the Moriscos rebellion in 1568.

In the War of Independence in 1812, during the occupation by Napoleonic troops, the British fleet destroyed the small fortress.

On December 25, 1884 a major earthquake shook large parts of the Axarquía (the eastern part of the province of Málaga) and parts of the province of Granada. The earthquake killed 900 people. In Nerja many houses were destroyed. Due to the earthquake Alfonso XII visited the city on January 20, 1885 and held a speech in the square where the former fortress stood, which already then was called "Balcón de Europa". The place became very well known. Today, you’ll find a bronze statue of Alfons XII on the square.

Joomla templates by a4joomla

In der etwa fünf Kilometer von der Stadt entfernten Höhle "Cueva de Nerja" wurden Zeugnisse von menschlicher Besiedlung aus der Altsteinzeit gefunden.

Im Dorf Maro, vier Kilometer östlich von der Stadt Nerja gelegenen, wurden Überbleibsel der römischen Siedlung Detunda entdeckt.

Die Mauren bauten etwas weiter landeinwärts, als es die heutige Stadt ist, die ersten Gebäude.

Erste schriftliche Hinweise auf den Namen Nerja kommen von dem Geschichtswissenschaftler Almacarri de Tremecen und dem arabischen Poeten und Geographen Ibn Sadí um das Jahr 917, mit der Ortsbezeichnung Nerja, Naricha, Narixa oder Narija und der Bedeutung »(reiche) Wasserquelle«.

Die Mauren bauten auch eine kleine Festungsanlage an der Küste. Nachdem der Herzog von Nájera die Stadt Vélez-Málaga im Jahr 1487 eroberte, ergab sich Nerja widerstandslos der christlichen Herrschaft.

Im Jahre 1509 wurde der Bau einer kleinen Festung in der Stadt Nerja vollendet. Sie wurde auf einer Klippe errichtet und stand nicht an derselben Stelle wie die Festung der Mauren. Die Festung sollte zum Schutz vor Angriffen der Berber dienen. Im 16. Jahrhundert sind viele arabischstämmige Einwohner weggezogen oder wurden vertrieben. Dies geschah vor allem durch die Neuansiedlung von Altchristen aus Vizcaya, Galicien, Valencia, Sevilla und anderen Teilen Andalusiens, aber auch durch den Morisken-Aufstand 1568.

Im Unabhängigkeitskrieg 1812 wurde während der Besetzung durch napoleonische Truppen die kleine Festung von der britischen Flotte zerstört.

Am 25. Dezember 1884 erschütterte ein großes Erdbeben weite Teile der Axarquía (der östliche Teil der Provinz Málaga) und Teile der Provinz Granada. Bei dem Erdbeben waren insgesamt 900 Tote, einer davon in Nerja, zu beklagen. In Nerja wurden viele Häuser zerstört. Auf Grund des Erdbebens besuchte Alfonso XII am 20. Januar 1885 die Stadt und hielt auf dem Platz, auf dem die ehemalige Festung stand und der damals schon "Balcón de Europa" genannt wurde, eine Rede. Der Platz wurde daraufhin sehr bekannt. Heute steht eine Statue Alfons XII in Lebensgröße auf dem Platz.

Joomla templates by a4joomla